Welcome to Kaanglab

Institute for Basic Science


  • Director, Center for Cognition and Sociality, Institute for Basic Science (IBS)
  • Professor Emeritus, Seoul National University
  • Fellow of the Korean Academy of Science & Technology
  • Editor-in-Chief, MOLECULAR BRAIN, www.molecularbrain.com

Dr. Bong-Kiun Kaang joined the Institute for Basic Science (IBS) in 2023 as the co-director of the Center for Cognition and Sociality, established in July 2012. He holds a B.A. in microbiology from Seoul National University and earned his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1992. Beginning his academic career as an assistant professor in 1994 at Seoul National University, he attained the position of Distinguished Professor in 2021 and, since 2023, holds the title of Professor Emeritus. Dr. Kaang has garnered recognition through various awards, such as the Kyung-Ahm Prize (2012), National Academy of Sciences award (2016), Korean Federation of Science & Technology Societies (KOFST) award (2018), and the Samsung Ho-Am Prize (2021). He has been the Editor-in-Chief of MOLECULAR BRAIN since 2008 and is a distinguished fellow of the Korean Academy of Science & Technology.

Positions and Education

  • 1992
    Ph.D. (Columbia University)
  • 1992
    Fellow(Columbia University)
  • 1994
    Assistant Professor (Seoul National University)
  • 1998
    Associate Professor (Seoul National University)
  • 2004
    Professor (Seoul National University)
  • 2013
    National Honor Scientist (NRF)
  • 2023 ~
    Director (Institute for Basic Science)

Honor & Awards

  • 2021
    Samsung Ho-Am Prize in Science, The Ho-Am Foundation
  • 2021
    Endowed Chair Professor, Seoul National University
  • 2020
    Joseph Jin Chang Research award, The Korean Society for Brain and Neural Science
  • 2019
    Distinguished Jejujeil High School Alumni Award
  • 2019
    Ken-ichi Arai Award, East Asia Joint Symposium on Biomedical Research
  • 2018
    Korea Best Scientist & Engineer Award
  • 2016
    Minister Commendation for the best research achievement, Ministry of Science,
  • 2016
    ICT and Future Planning, Korea
  • 2016
    The National Academy of Sciences Award, The National Academy of Sciences, Korea
  • 2015
    Minister Prize, Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning, Korea
  • 2013
    AND Investigator Award, Association for the Studies of Neurons and Diseases
  • 2012
    Donghun Award, Korean Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Korea
  • 2012
    National Honor Scientist Program, National Research Foundation, Korea
  • 2012
    Kyung Ahm Prize, Kyung Ahm Foundation, Korea
  • 2012
    National Honor Scientist, The Ministry of Science, ICT & Future Planning, Korea
  • 2011
    Excellent Research Award, Seoul National University, Korea
  • 2010
    Fellow of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology, Korea
  • 2008
    Life Science Award, Korean Society for Molecular and Cellular Biology, Korea
  • 2007
    The Best Research Award, College of Natural Sciences, SNU, Korea
  • 2007
    Excellent Research Scientist, Korea Ministry of Science and Technology, Korea
  • 1989
    Government Fellowship Award for Studying Abroad